Our Team

Executive Management Team

We are led by an executive management team responsible for effective leadership and the overall management of the Authority's strategic direction and day-to-day operations.

Frank Denton, Chief Executive Officer

As CEO, Frank’s strategic leadership guides the success of the Authority in advancing a circular economy and realizing the vision of a waste-free Ontario. He brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to the role, gained over a distinguished career with the Government of Ontario and in private legal practice. As Assistant Deputy Minister of Ontario’s Ministry of Government and Consumer Services, Frank oversaw the design and delivery of regulatory programs in a broad range of sectors, including electrical safety, real estate professionals, new home warranties, motor vehicle dealers, and travel retailers and wholesalers. In addition to regulatory, policy and operational experience with the Ontario government, Frank also practiced commercial law with the firm of Osler, Hoskin and Harcourt and served as Legal Director with the Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General, focusing on economic development and research funding programs.

Patrick Moran, Registrar

Pat leads the Authority’s Registry support, compliance and enforcement function, including inspections; compliance orders; administrative penalties; offence provisions; and operation of the public registry to receive and store information related to resource recovery and waste reduction activities. His vast experience in regulatory and compliance law in the environmental field includes previous roles as Crown Counsel with the then Ontario Ministry of the Environment’s Legal Services Branch, Board Counsel to the Ontario Energy Board, and work in private practice with Ogilvy Renault (now Norton Rose Fulbright). Most recently, Pat served as General Counsel and Corporate Secretary with the Nuclear Waste Management Organization.

Noah Gitterman, Director of Legal Services

Noah is responsible for providing legal counsel to senior management and staff and, through the CEO, to the Board of Directors. Noah brings a wealth of experience in both law and regulatory policy to the role. He spent a decade with Proskauer Rose LLP in the firm’s New York office, advising clients on a broad range of complex commercial matters including intellectual property and competition law. Noah’s legal career began as a law clerk for the Honourable Justice John M. Evans at the Federal Court of Appeal of Canada. Noah also has in-depth experience in regulatory policy with the Ontario government, where he developed policies to establish new regulatory authorities, and led initiatives to implement innovative regulatory compliance tools. Noah holds a M.A. in Public Policy from the University of Chicago, a J.D. from the University of Toronto Faculty of Law, and a B.A. from McGill University.

Wilson Lee, Director of Communications and Stakeholder Relations

Wilson is responsible for developing and implementing the Authority’s communications strategy, providing strategic advice to the Board and senior management, managing external communications with stakeholders and the media, and acting as the primary point of contact with the Ontario Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change. Wilson’s extensive career in strategic communications, public policy,  government relations and journalism includes previous roles as executive lead for policy and communications at the Technical Standards and Safety Authority; Chief of Staff to an Ontario Cabinet Minister; head of policy advocacy with a global health agency based in New York City; head of communications for a university research institute in Johannesburg; and reporting assignments in Seoul, southern Africa, and the Queen’s Park and Parliament Hill press galleries in Toronto and Ottawa respectively.

Sandra Montague, Director of Finance and Administration

Sandra is responsible for the Authority’s financial management, human resources and business administration. She is a Chartered Professional Accountant and Certified General Accountant with a wealth of both private and not-for-profit sector experience in finance, human resources and organizational transformation.  Sandra’s most recent role prior to joining the Authority was with the Alzheimer Society of Ontario, where she was the Chief Transformation Officer, a role she assumed following her success as Chief Financial and Administration Officer. Previously, she was Vice President of Finance for the Strand Lighting Group and Director of Finance with Kinetic Concepts Inc., a medical technology and device company.

John Pinard, Director of Information & Information Technology

John is responsible for the Authority’s information technology systems and leads the development of the Authority’s technology infrastructure, including the Registry to receive and store information related to resource recovery and waste reduction activities. John’s extensive career in information technology systems design and implementation includes previous roles as Director of Research and Advisory with Info-Tech Research Group, an information technology research and advisory group; Senior Director of Information Systems with Chartwell Retirement Residences, Canada’s largest seniors home operator; and Head of Information Technology with Purdue Pharma Canada, an international pharmaceutical manufacturer.

Geoff Rathbone, Director of Transition

Geoff is the operational lead for the Authority’s oversight of existing waste diversion programs and their eventual wind up as responsibility and accountability transitions to individual producers under the Resource Recovery and Circular Economy Act, 2016. He brings tremendous depth of knowledge about Ontario’s waste management and recycling sector to the position, having served as Director of Operations with the former Waste Diversion Ontario and, more recently, as Acting CEO of the Authority. Previously, Geoff was Vice President at Progressive Waste Solutions with responsibility for developing recycling and resource recovery across North America, and General Manager of the City of Toronto’s Solid Waste Services division.

Programs and Planning

Our Managers of Programs and Planning are the primary point of contact for the following programs: Blue Box, Hazardous or Special Waste, Used Tires, and Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment.

Mary Cummins

Mary oversees the Municipal Hazardous or Special Waste and Blue Box programs and manages the administration of the municipal Datacall. She is the acting point of contact for the Used Tires and Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment programs. Mary has over 10 years of experience in project management, research, stakeholder relations and internal policy and program development in the not-for-profit sectors. She has eight years’ experience in the field of resource recovery. Prior to joining our team, Mary worked as a steward services representative at Stewardship Ontario.


Our Executives and Managers are supported by a dedicated staff who are integral to achieving the Authority’s mandate. Please email info@rpra.ca if you wish to contact a staff member not listed here.