

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes – Approved

DATE: Thursday, August 19, 2021 TIME: 10:27am – 10:40am

Meeting conducted online

Chair: Tom Wright (Vice-Chair) Directors: Robert Poirier (Chair), Mary Shenstone (Secretary),

Ken Kawall (Treasurer), Saqib Cheema, Tanweer Gilani, Andrea Nemtin, Rajesh Sharma,

Marnie Silver, Jeffrey Steiner

Guests: Christine Bomé

Krista Friesen, Resource Recovery Policy Branch, MECP

RPRA: Frank Denton, Wassim Attalla, Gail Cosman, Noah Gitterman, Wilson Lee, Emily Rix,

Stacey Bowman

Board Secretariat: Andrea Abraham

1.0 Call to Order

With a quorum present, the meeting was called to order at 10:27 a.m.

T. Wright Chaired the meeting on behalf of R. Poirier.

1.1 Adoption of the Agenda

Motion: To adopt the meeting agenda as presented.

It was duly Moved, Seconded and Carried.

1.2 Declaration of Real, Potential or Apparent Conflict of Interest

No conflicts were declared.

1.3 Land Acknowledgement Statement

The Vice-Chair offered a Land Acknowledgement:

The Authority is hosting this meeting from Toronto and wants to acknowledge that traditionally, Toronto was a gathering place for many nations including the Anishinabek, the Haudenosaunee, and the Wendat peoples. The Authority also acknowledges that it is meeting in the area covered by Treaty 13, also known as the Toronto Purchase, and pays its respects to the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation.



Ontario is unique in that its land base is covered by Treaty and land purchase agreements between the original occupants of the land, the First Nations, who continue to care for this land and continue to shape Ontario today – and the Authority wants to show its respect for this.

2.1 Finance and Technology Committee Report

2.1 a) 2021 Registry Fees for Blue Box and HSP

The Finance and Technology Committee Chair presented the Committee's recommendation to approve the 2021 Registry Fees for Blue Box and HSP. The Board considered the Committee's recommendation.

Motion:

BE IT RESOLVED that the following 2021 Registry Fee Schedule for Blue Box and Hazardous and Special Products is approved by the Board.

Blue Box

Registrant	Proposed 2021 Registry fees
Producer: less than 50,000 kg paper/packaging supplied*	\$75 flat fee
Producer: >= 50,000 kg paper/packaging supplied*	\$0.0038 (0.38¢) per kg supplied

Hazardous and Special Products

Trazaradas aria opesiar risuadas		
Material group	Registrant	Proposed 2021 Registry fees*
Category A and B	Producer: < = 10,000 kg HSP supplied	\$75 flat fee
	Producer: > = 10,000 kg HSP supplied	\$0.013 (1.3¢) per kg supplied
Category C	Producer	\$7,500 flat fee
Category D	Producer	\$1,000 flat fee
Category E	Producer	\$1,000 flat fee
Category C, D and E	Producer with Ontario annual revenue < \$2 Million	\$75 flat fee

^{*}The kg supplied for Blue Box material is based on 2020 supply data required to be submitted by producers under the Blue Box regulation

Fee payment timeline

^{**}The kg supplied for Hazardous and Special Products material is based on an average of 2018, 2019 and 2020 supply data. The supply data used to calculate the fee will be the supply made into the sectors identified for that material type in the 2021 rules for stewards under the Municipal Hazardous or Special Waste (MHSW) programs.



When producers register on the Registry, fees wil be automatically calculated. Fees are due based on the terms of the invoice.

Other charges and fees

The Authority will levy other charges as follows:

- A monthly 1.5% late payment fee as a percentage of the fee value
- Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks costs associated with Environmental Review Tribunal hearings resulting from the appeal of compliance orders and administrative penalty orders from affected parties
- Prosecution costs directly from affected parties

It was duly Moved, Seconded and Carried.

3.0 In Camera Discussion

Motion: To move In Camera.

It was duly Moved, Seconded and Carried.

Motion: To move out of In Camera.

It was duly Moved, Seconded and Carried.

4.0 Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Tom Wright Mary Shenstone

Wice-Chair Corporate Secretary